Publisher: SVS Press

Dimensions: 6" x 9"

Format/Cover Type:

978-0-88141-608-4 Vol. 1; 978-088141-653-4 Vol. 2; 978-088141-669-5 Vol. 3; 978-0-88141-698-5 Vol. 4

 This series of books on Jesus is not so much for those Christians who are rooted in holy tradition as it is for non-believers, those who doubt and who are hesitant. In the first instance, it may give some answers to those who believe that Jesus never even existed. Secondly, it is for those who believe that Jesus existed but do not believe that he is God. Thirdly, it is for those who perhaps consider themselves Christians but relate to the Gospel narratives skeptically or view the Gospels through the prism of the criticism through which it was subjected in the works of Western specialists in the New Testament in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Ultimately, we would like to answer the main question of what Jesus has brought to people and why he is necessary for people today. – from the Foreword.

It has been said that Jesus Christ is always actual, and at the same time always anticipating actuality. This is something that Metropolitan Hilarion has made abundantly clear in his monumental six-volume study. As he observes, throughout history there has never been a person about whom so much has been written; and yet the Metropolitan has himself found many new ways to restate, in fresh and vivid terms, the ancient truths about the Savior. This is a remarkable study that deserves to be read with close attention. -Metropolitan Kallistos Ware

Volume 1: The Beginning of the Gospel.  578 pages

Volume 2: The Sermon on the Mount - It focuses entirely on the Sermon on the Mount, examining the Beatitudes, the Lord’s Prayer, and other teachings of the Lord in light of both current scholarship and the Church’s perennial tradition. 444 pages

Volume 3: The Miracles of Jesus - Metropolitan Hilarion Alfeyev examines the miracles of Jesus in their scriptural and historical context, helping us to understand their deeper meaning and to see how they reveal the true identity of Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior. 453 pages

Volume 4: The Parables of Jesus - In this volume, Met. Hilarion explores the most distinct aspect of Jesus' teaching ministry: his parables. The parables are explored from multiple angles, giving due consideration both to modern biblical scholarship and the insights it can give, as well as the ancient tradition of the Church and the extensive commentaries of the Church Fathers. 428 pages

About the Author: Metropolitan Hilarion Alfeyev has authored numerous works on theology and church history, and is an internationally recognized composer of liturgical music. In the words of Patriarch Alexei II of blessed memory, "His many years of service to the mother church, his rich creative activity, and his broad perspective enable him to present the tradition of the Orthodox Church in all its diversity."

Jesus Christ: His Life and Teaching

  • $38.00

Available Options

Related Products

Orthodox Christianity Volume II: Doctrine and Teaching of the Orthodox Church

Orthodox Christianity Volume II: Doctrine and Teaching of the Orthodox Church

Publisher: St Vladimir's Seminary Press 2012Author: Metropolitan Hilarion AlfeyevDimensions: 6" x 9"..


Christ the Eternal Tao

Christ the Eternal Tao

Publisher: Valaam Books, 2012Author: Hieromonk DamasceneDimensions: 6" x 9"Format/Cover Type: Softco..


Иисус Христос. Жизнь и учение. Книга I. Начало Евангелия

Иисус Христос. Жизнь и учение. Книга I. Начало Евангелия

Издатель: Сретенский монастырь, 2016 Автор: Митрополит Иларион (Алфеев) Размер: 9.375" x 6..


Евангелие Достоевского

Евангелие Достоевского

Издатель: Познание ИД, 2021 Автор: Митрополит Иларион (Алфеев) Размер: 8.75" x 6"Обложка/п..